Reviews

Right next to the train station was really useful, so it meant we could just dump our bags and explore as soon as we arrived. The dorm itself was spacious, and the facilities were good too. Although it's about a 30 min walk to the river, the metro was cheap and a good alternative. It wasn't spotless, but was no means dirty either. The staff were very friendly and extremely useful - when one of our suitcases' locks got stuck, they got all of their tool box out to try and solve the problem.

Anonymous
July 5, 2016

The worst thing about this hostel is the dust! If you have allergies bring your medication, otherwise you will sneeze all night. The decoration is kind of creepy but we liked it. The staff were helpfull and informative (about restaurants nearby, sightseeing, etc). The hostel is walking distance to the restaurant and bars area but far enough to avoid the noise. The is an ATM, supermarket, restaurants and metro/train station just nearby so the location is very good.

Anonymous
May 26, 2016

Hostel staff was super friendly and very helpful with everything. Theres creepy dummies everywhere which is a bit strange though. A couple of minutes walk to the main train station and the underground lines so its super convenient.

Anonymous
May 21, 2016

The gentleman who check us in was SO helpful and saved us hours of researching by informing us on location, costs, and times of everything we wanted to do. Appreciate him so much. They had a Washer but no dryer so we go down the street to do laundry. Wifi works great. Close to train--less than 5 minutes but we had a hard time finding it at first. Old small building. Worth the money.

Anonymous
May 15, 2016

The place was great! It's about a 30 minute walk from the water but you can metro to anywhere from right outside the door. The atmosphere of the place is awesome too and the staff are super helpful to all your questions, because we had a lot of them. They've got a nice kitchen on site and can also recommend some other great places nearby too.

Anonymous
February 19, 2016

My partner and I stayed here from the 31st of August - 5th of September.

Tommy, in particular, was a fantastic host and engaged us with friendly and insightful conversation! The staff are on hand 24 hours a day too if you need them, just in a little room above the social area, so you know that help is always there if you need it.

The room did look over a very busy street, and it was too hot to have the windows closed which meant it could get quite noisy, but the bed was very comfy so we managed to sleep quite well despite the heat. I should note too that when the windows were closed, it did drown the majority of the noise, so if you're not visiting in the height of the Summer then you should be alright!

The hostel is very well connected, being about 50 meters from the Keleti Palyaudvar. This made it extremely easy to get around the city and back to the hostel again after a long day out walking! It's also just a 25 minute walk away from the City Park, where you can find Heroes' Square, the Szechenyi baths, and Budapest Zoo! In the other direction, it's also just a 20 minute walk down a straight road to Astoria where you can find some of the main pubs/clubs (like the ruin pub, Szimpla, which I highly recommend), so even if you find yourself out late like we did, it isn't difficult to meander back home!

On a practical note too, there is an Aldi about 50 meters down the road from the hostel, which was extremely useful.

Overall, we had a wonderful time in Budapest, and were made to feel right at home at the Locomotive Light Hostel - so if you're planning on travelling to Hungary's capital on a budget, I would highly recommend this little hostel!

jimi_dally
September 9, 2015

Loved staying here as there are pretty much no cons whatsoever!
It's directly opposite Budapest's main train station, which also connects to the city's metro system.
The staff were extremely helpful and chatty.
There are facilities to wash clothes (and because we went out while it was running the owner even hung ours out to dry for us, very kind!)
A lot of thought put into decoration, interesting and funny stuff on the walls.
Beds were very comfy in the dorm and we chose two beds next each other so felt like our own room really.
Shower was powerful and hot as you want it.
The whole place was incredibly clean and well kept.
Fully kitted out kitchen, free tea and coffee.
Towels provided.

The one complaint we could possibly make if we were being picky is that the stairs in the dorm up to our beds and two others (dorm of 6) were really creaky so was it was difficult not to make a lot of noise at night.

Overall, great place and would most definitely stay again and recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy Budapest.

Ben J
September 8, 2015

The hostel is small but has everything you need. There are two showers and toilets which were both pretty clean at all times. The kitchen is also small but again it doesn't need to be any bigger.
As it's so small there is just 1 member of staff there most of the time, we met 2 male staff members and both were really nice. Occasionally they might pop out for 10 minutes but this is fine as you are out yourself for most of the day anyway.
Wifi worked well in all areas.
My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room and the decoration was lovely. The bed was a four poster and had ribbons running from each post. Also the decoration of the hostel as a whole was quite quirky but cool, pretty sure we spotted a scarecrow type thing in one of the dorms, and there was a mannequin in the corridor and one of the bathrooms, this was pretty creepy but we liked it as it gave it character.
Location wise it's very good as it's less than one minute from Keleti train station, and most of the time we walked to all of the tourist spots as it wasn't that far on foot to the main areas (20/30 mins).
Overall I loved this hostel so have given 5/5 but would warn travellers who are on their own that because it's so small it may be harder to meet people!

Foodieee
August 27, 2015

This hostel has the most unique,unorthodox decorating I've ever seen. Im not even sure how to describe the atmosphere of this place. In the common/reception area park benches are used as seating. You will find some mannequins around too. One in the bathroom (which quite frankly scared the bejesus out of me) and one in the hallway all dressed up.

On the practical side, There is a kitchen that is available to guests. It comes with a fridge/freezer, stove top, oven, microwave, sink and any utensils you would need. My bed came with a little wooden crate with a lock. You can use this to store some of your stuff. There was also a bedside table with a lamp and plugs. My room had a balcony that overlooked the busy streets (it can get a bit loud at night).

For the small apartment they had to work with, they really turned this hostel into a pretty rad place. 4.5/5.

Colin G
July 21, 2015